410-394-0990 | info@mcnelisgroup.com

Charles County

Previous Image
Next Image

Charles County is located in the southern central portion of the U.S. state of Maryland. The county seat is La Plata. The county was named for Charles Calvert, third Baron of Baltimore. Charles County was created in 1658 by an Order in Council. There was an also an earlier Charles County from 1650 to 1653, sometimes referred to in historic documents as Old Charles County.

In April 1865, John Wilkes Booth made his escape through Charles County on his way to Virginia after shooting President Abraham Lincoln.

In Port Tobacco, one of the oldest communities on the East Coast, you’ll see the home of Thomas Stone, a signer of the Declaration of Independence and the restored Port Tobacco Courthouse, the original county seat that also houses exhibits on tobacco and local archaeology.

La Plata is the county seat. Historic Mount Carmel (1790), a Catholic convent, is just outside La Plata.

The county has a number of properties on the National Register of Historic Places. Among which, are the distinguished Green Park and the historical Pleasant Hill, home of the Green and Spalding Families.

According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 643 square miles of which 458 square miles is land and 185 square miles (29%) is water.

As of the 2010 census, the population was 146,551.

As of the census of 2010, there were 146,551 people in the county. Census 2000 tells us there are 41,668 households, and 32,292 families residing in the county. The median income (revised in 2007) for a household in the county was $80,573, and the median income for a family was $89,358

The College of Southern Maryland (CSM) is headquartered in La Plata. CSM is a public, regional community college, serving Southern Maryland‘s CharlesSt. Mary’s, and Calvert counties.

The Charles County school system is run by the Charles County Board of Education and is funded by Charles County, Maryland through the taxpayers. CCPS is one of the fastest growing school systems in Maryland. There are 6 Public High Schools,  8 Public Middle Schools, and 21 Public Elementary Schools in this county.

The Towns of Charles County are Indian Head, La Plata (county seat), and Port Tobacco Village. The Census Bureau recognizes the following census-designated places in the county: Bennsville, Bryans Road, Hughesville, Potomac Heights, Saint Charles, Waldorf.

Unincorporated communities in Charles County are: Bel Alton, Benedict, Bryantown, Cobb Island, Dentsville, Faulkner, Glymont, Grayton, Ironsides, Issue, Malcolm, Marbury, Morgantown, Mount Victoria, Nanjemoy, Newburg, Pisgah, Pomfret, Popes Creek, Port Tobacco, Pomonkey, Ripley, Rison, Rock Point, Swan Point, Welcome, White Plains.

Charles County Government Information Office website: http://www.charlescountymd.gov/coadmin/pio/public-information-office

For further information or assistance, contact a member of the Public Information Office team directly:

Ms. Crystal N. Hunt, Public Information Officer | 301-645-0580 | E-mail Crystal
Ms. Donna L. Fuqua, Public Information Specialist | 301-885-2779 | E-mail Donna

Contact Us:
Phone:  301-645-0550   301-870-3000
8:00 a.m.-4:30 p.m. M-F

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 2150, La Plata, MD 20646

Physical Address:
200 Baltimore St., La Plata, MD 20646


For Residents

To learn more about the various Departments in Charles County Government, and the services offered, please visit our Departments page. Below is just a sampling of the items of interest to the residents of Charles County.

Aging and Senior Care

Senior Centers
Senior Information and Assistance
Contact Aging Services
(NOTE: Aging is a Department of Community Services’ division)

Animal Control Services

Animal Control Regulations, Dog Tags
Animals Currently Available For Adoption
Contact Animal Control
(NOTE: Animal Control is a Department of Emergency Services’ division)

Citizens’ Liaison Office

Contact the Citizens’ Liaison Office

Chamber of Commerce
Charles County Chamber of Commerce
101 Centennial Street, Suite A . La Plata, Maryland . 20646
301-932-6500. 301-932-3945 FAX .

Community Services

Aging and Senior Services
Child Care
Community Centers
Elite Gymnastics and Recreation Center
Housing Authority
Contact Department of Community Services

Deed Research and Validation

Deed Research and Validation Information
Contact Charles County Treasurer’s Office
(NOTE: Charles County Treasurer’s Office is responsible for Deed Research & Validation)

Emergency Preparedness

Prepare for a Disaster
Contact Emergency Services

Housing and Community Development

Housing Choice Voucher Program
Rental Allowance Program (RAP)
Special Loans
Contact Housing & Community Development
(NOTE: Housing & Community Development is a Department of Community Services Division)


Charles County Landfill (Billingsly Road)
Trash & Tag-A-Bag
Contact the Landfill

Library (Charles County Public)

Contact the Library

Mattawoman Waste Water Treatment Plant

Mattawoman Waste Water Treatment Plant (Department of Public Works/Utilities)
Contact the Department of Public Works/Utilities

Nursing/Allied Health Scholarship

Contact the Nursing/Allied Health Committee

Parks and Grounds

Park Facilities
Outdoor Sports
White Plains Golf Course
Contact Parks and Grounds


Community Centers
Elite Gymnastics and Recreation Center

Public Facilities

Environmental Resources
Contact Public Works

Recycling/Environmental Resources

Curbside Recycling
Litter Control
Contact Recycling and Litter Control


Drainage and Culvert Pipes 
Sidewalk, Pothole Repairs
Snow Removal
Traffic Regulation and Street Signs
Contact Roads
(NOTE: Roads is a division of the Department of Public Facilities)

Sheriff’s Office

Charles County Sheriff’s Office Website
Neighborhood Crime Statistics


Your Property Taxes
Property Inquiry
Real Property Tax Information
Tax Sale

Tourism Office

Contact the Office of Tourism


VanGO and Bus Schedules
Contact VanGO
(NOTE: Transportation is a division of the Department of Community Services)

Treasurer’s Office

Contact Treasurer’s Office

Water and Sewer Billing

Utility Account Billing Inquiry
Contact Water and Sewer Billing
(NOTE: Water and Sewer Billing is a division of the Department of Fiscal Services)


Registration/Sticker Renewal
Contact Treasurer’s Office
(Treasurer’s Office is responsible for vehicle registration/sticker renewals)

Vital Statistics

Birth, marriage, divorce or death


Charles County Board Elections